Pie Dish Quandary


Background

I’m thinking about starting to take a lunch to work. No, big problems so far.  Where the quandaries start coming in are I’d like to take a pie and salad. Should be simple you think. Well I’m starting to make it complex for myself.

Pies and Pie Dishes

Making a pie is not the issue I’ve plenty of recipes for pie fillings. Handling pastry, the frozen pre-rolled versions, is not “rocket science”. Making the pastry myself would be razing the bar, probably too high.

The what issue which has me pondering is: “What sort of dish to use for the pie?”. Criteria which I wish to work within is a single serve pie, not a big pie which needs to be carved up.

Pie Dish Options

I’m take with the Maxwell & WIlliamns Microstoven Microstoven Range. The idea of using a ceramic pie dish has some appeal. I’ve am underlying belief that the ceramic gives a more even heat, hence a better bake (a completely unproven assertion on my part). Also, one can use this bake ware in the microwave, so the reheating of a pie at work becomes much simpler. The quandary at this point breaks down to the choice between the two options below.

Maxwell & Williams Microstoven Fluted Flan 13×5.5cm Red 

Maxwell & Williams Microstoven Round Au Gratin Dish 13.5cm Red

 

Questions:

  1. Will the fluted dish be too hard to line with pastry?
  2. Will the round dish be easier to work with? (the converse of the preceding question)
  3. Which will hold more? (an important question when considering my lunch – don’t want me dying of lack of food!)

del.icio.us Tags: ,,,,
, , , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

