Another dip into Writer Plug-in Development


Introduction

This post continues my exploration of the possibilities that Writer plug-in offer. These are the previous blog posts on the topic:

What I think I try and build this time

This time I’m going to go for something a bit smarter. There are couple of thing things that I think I build into a plug-in.

  1. A Wikipedia Link which looks some thing like    Wikipedia iconWikipedia Link (there is a bit of work to do on the icon/image).
    1. The plug-in will take the currently selected text
    2. If the selection exists on the Wikipedia simply insert the link
    3. (Version 2) I think I’ll allow some degree of customisation of the link inserted.
    4. (Version 2) Will allow for the pasting of a citation (Version 3 allows for multiple formats).
  2. RSS Feed Linking, or Blog This from a RSS feed. Or, could be a citation type of to an article.New Scientist is my first target for this but the list of possible RSS feeds will probably grow.
    1. (Version 3) There is probably a generalisation which will fall out of this, which should allow for the linking to any RSS feed,
    2. There will also, probably fall out, a set of  patterns for the link and citation
  3. MSDN Link (with the look like point 1).
  4. (Version 3) Other reference sites, dictionaries, thesauri, quotes, (and more).

Time table

Wait and see. I’m not certain how much time I will have for the project. It will be a bit of a puddle around when the mood takes me project.

del.icio.us Tags: ,,
Digg This
, ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

