A New Way of Working


 

I’m currently doing a TOGAF 9 (The Open Group Architecture Framework )  training course. Which I’ll probably blog about later.

I’m taking copious notes about the structure an content of the TOGAF ADM (Architecture Development Method). I’m doing my note taking on my big Dell Notebook. The big notebook has some pluses and minuses. The pluses are that it’s plenty of horsepower when it comes to doing development work. The minuses is that it’s big, bulky and a bit on the heavy side.

When at Microsoft TechEd, a couple of months ago, I was using a nice compact HP Atom. Nice little PC, but the screen is small (no way around it is is), and the keyboard while being usable is small as well.

What I”d like (see below) is a compact tablet PC. Give me pen input, no keyboard, and a bit more screen real estate. The below is something “in the works” from Microsoft. The Courier, is at prototype stage somewhere in the Microsoft sausage factory. I’d like to have something like this to use as a personal computer. There are still places for the notebook, the requirement for real horse power for doing real development work and portability being well served by the concept. The net book probably has a place, casual web browsing, blogging, and the like. But, a no keyboard, pen input, PC looks like something which would suite my requirements for a portable computer.

Depending on the price, and when something like this hits the market. I’ll definitely consider buying one.

Digg This
, , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

