Promotion To A New Organisation


Introduction

I’ve been looking outside my current employer for a promotion for the last couple of months. I’ve “thrown my hat in the ring” for a couple of opportunities, during that period.

Why have I been looking?

I’ve been with my current employer for more the 27 years (would have been 28 years come the 4th of February 2010).

The last 12 month have not been a positive time, for my current organisation. Their have been a number of development, and changes, which quite simply I don’t agree with.

Many of those changes, convinced me that the possibility of achieving a promotion within that organisation had a probability of ≈ 0 (I’ll give a bit of a chance to the possibility, but not much). I could have increased the probability of promotion, I’ve become a non-technical management clone (or automaton), but I enjoy the technical side of the IT game too much.

The Promotion

I’ve secured a promotion to a position with a small organisation to fill the following roles:

  • SOA (Services Oriented Architecture) Architect. This a role I’ve been trying to facilitate within my current organisation for many years, with some success. I look forward to being in a position to really drive that process, and architecture forward in a new organisation.
  • Technical Leader. This is an another role I have developed myself into over the years. Being a teacher, tutor, mentor, demonstrator of new technologies, approaches, or techniques, is something which I do enjoy.  Frequently, one feels like “Johnny Appleseed”, casting the seeds and watch those ideas take root, and then “bear the sweet fruits of success”.
  • C#/.Net Developer. Again, a role I’m very comfortable with. I know more than enough C# to be really useful as a developer. That knowledge I keep adding to, MSDN and StackOverflow being among my favourite sources.

The Future

Well , start the Monday the 19th of January (if the promotion gets notified in the Gazette tomorrow). I’ll be checking myself, just to make sure that it happens.

I’ve a meeting with my peers, next week, at which I’d like to get a handle on just what the .Net technology stack they are using looks like. It could be that I have a bit of swatting up to do for my Christmas break. Getting some reference books in may be a bit difficult, with the Christmas shutdown, but hopefully MSDN and StackOverflow will provide enough background (or background links) to fill in any gaps.

I’ve a 27+ years worth of accumulation to clear out, box up, or feed to the paper recycling bin.

There will have to be a farewell. Given the workload in the area, I may have to run it myself.

A job for tomorrow. Set the date Friday the 15th of January. Location, probably the Thai (or the one of the Chinese) down by the lake. The invite list (that will take some thinking about). Also, must consider printing off a couple of business cards with this blogs URL (for a selected group of my friends).

The getting promoted present (to me, from me). That will be the start of an electric guitar collection (on the basis that more than one makes a collection).

The Apology

To any of my readers, who have noticed a fall off in my posting frequency. I’ve sort of know about this for a little while (got it down to a 50/50 chance with the second interview and two applicants), and been hanging in a “don’t count your chickens before they hatch” loop since then. That “wheel spinning” loop, I did not want to share in my blog. The frustration, impatience,  just “hurry up” – as Blackboard would say in Mr Squiggle, would have bleed through into my writing. Now, that it is all “signed, sealed and delivered” +/- the Gazettal tomorrow, and any appeals. 

del.icio.us Tags: ,,,
Digg This
  1. #1 by Craig on December 19, 2009 - 3:46 am

    John, Thank you for the congratulations. I am quite looking forward to the new position. In some ways, it is doing what I have been doing for years, but with more responsibility/authority for the decision-making. The role is doing things I like, enjoy, and find satisfying. As a result, I do not feel daunted making the move.It will be a quite a change moving organisations after 28 years. That change is one that I am actually looking forward to. Could be I have reached my “use by date”, with the current organisation. It is a feeling that I has developed over the last year, needed to move on and find the EL2 opportunity that spurred me to applying elsewhere. Blogging is an interesting pastime. I have developed some useful (for me) techniques in the short period I have been writing this blog. Moreover, in a beautiful piece of recursion, I will write a blog post about blogging. That does appeal to my warped sense of humour. Now, I am going to take my new electric guitar to the “Craig Watson” custom shop. I have a minor modification to make to it, and then I will do a bit of guitar practice. Again, I will write a blog post about the new guitar – probably just some pictures of the new guitar with a few “isn’t it pretty” words.Cheers,Craig

  2. #2 by John on December 19, 2009 - 1:45 am

    Hi Craig! Congratulations on your promotion. You had mentioned when we saw you this year that you were looking for an alternative to your long standing role, and it must be a daunting move to change roles after so many years in the one place. Good luck with that, and it is good to see you enthusiastic to achieve some of your goals you were trying to reach in the current role, but were failing due to outside influences (for want of my anti-government swear words).My apologies that I have not commented on your blog to date, but we have been having some home challenges down here which has limited my time with regard to "spare" time to spend on the computer. I envy you for you ability to have that spare time away from other commitments to write a blog. My own blog, if it were to exist, I am sure would show infrequent and under stimulating topics of discussion. I will have to go back through your log over the holidays and read/comment on your past entries.Have an enjoyable Christmas and we will talk very soon.Cheers,John

Leave a Reply

