Debug.WriteLine in C# 4.0 and .Net Framework 4.0


Introduction

This is one is a very short blog post. There is a one improvement which has made its way into the C# 4.0 and .Net Framework, which I wish to share.

This improvement is a very simple one. If I had a paranoid streak, I would say Microsoft must have been watching the code I’ve been writing. Why? Because the code I write is littered with the following:

int i = 0;
// The old way
Debug.WriteLine(String.Format("What is i {0} - old way", i));

I use the debug output window in Visual Studio heavily. I find shoving formatted strings into the debug output window is one my standard ways of producing debug diagnostics from programs in development.

The Enhancement

[ConditionalAttribute("DEBUG")]
public static void WriteLine(
    string format,
    params Object[] args
);

The above is the prototype of the addition to the Debug class, another overload of the WriteLine method. This WriteLine method is document here : Debug.WriteLine.

Simply put this is a WriteLine method which encapsulates the String.Format call. Which results in code like:

int i = 0;
// The old way
Debug.WriteLine(String.Format("What is i {0} - old way", i));
// New in Version 4 of C# and .Net Framework
Debug.WriteLine("What is i {0} - New C# 4.0 way", i);

Conclusion

It’s a great improvement. It will save me a lot of keystrokes when I’m developing. But this enhancement , has a downside, now I need to remember to use it!

, , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

