Cakewalk Software on a Touch Screen Windows 7 Machine


Introduction

A couple of days a go I posted the following question on the Cakewalk user forum site:

Basically, I was asking if anyone in the user community (well, just those users who use the community forums) has any experience using the software on a Windows 7 Touch enabled PC. To date I’ve yet to get a single reply to the question. Which either means:

  1. It all works perfectly and “Why as a redundant question?”,
  2. No one has attempted to run the software on a touch screen enabled PC.

Either way, I’m left wondering what whether the software “plays nice” with a touch screen interface.

Taking the Plunge

Well, I’m about to find out the “hard way” if the software “plays nice” with a touch screen interface, or if the software simply needs a mouse to function. I’ve a touch screen Windows 7 machine on the way, and the one of the first thing I’ll do is install one of these software packages.  That is after making sure the machine set up and configuration is what I want, rather than the machine builders standard build (that could take some time!).

The Questions

If you have any experiences running either Sonar X1 or Guitar Tracks Pro 4 on a Windows 7 Touch Screen interface, please leave a comment on this blog, or point me to others peoples experiences. My searching of the internet did not turn up anything which was current on the subject.

If you have experiences with other DAW (Digital Audio Workstation : Wikipedia » Digital Audio Workstation) software, please leave a comment here as well. I’m interested in what does work in this area.

Conclusions

Given the lack of comments on the topic on the Cakewalk users forum, I suspect that I may be “boldly going where no man has gone before”.

Rest assured that I’ll be blogging my experiences, “the good, the bad and the ugly” of getting all of this up and running.

, , , , , ,

  1. #1 by jack in the box on September 2, 2011 - 11:49 am

    Hey. just wanted to tell you that sonar x1 works great with a touch screen. however im not sure about multi monitors and touch intergration with sonar. i saw it work an a tablet..

    • #2 by aussiecraig on September 3, 2011 - 7:27 pm

      Thanks for the news.
      The touch screen seems to work, but i have not done as much as I would like to have with the software. There have been too many other things eating my time.

      Craig

Leave a Reply

